No 7 Castle Hill Museum is the second oldest surviving Settler cottage in Port Elizabeth. This picturesque family dwelling dates back to 1827 and the first rector of St.Mary’s Church, the Rev. Frances McCleland, lived there during his term of office.
The cottage has been restored to reflect the history and the elegant lifestyle which was enjoyed by any English middle class family between 1840 and 1870 in Port Elizabeth.
Following renovations, the building was opened to the public as a museum in 1965. On display are period furniture in the parlour and bedrooms, the original bread oven in the kitchen, a treadle sewing machine, a display of home made dolls, a huge phonograph and a large variety of antique furniture representing the period.
Sadly, the museum experienced economic difficulties in 1999 and was almost forced to close to the public due to lack of funds. However a compassionate sponsor came forward at the last moment to give the financial relief necessary to keep the doors of No.7 open. Today the museum stands as a monument to a particular period in time in the history of Port Elizabeth and its doors are open to students, holiday makers and interested visitors to the Eastern Cape of South Africa.
Text credits: R Hift Photograph: Bayworld Library
Approximately 400 shipwrecks are to be found in and around Algoa Bay.
|Guests’ Gallery||View Our Brochure||Currency Conversion|
|Visit our guests’ gallery.
View photos, video clips, blogs and more...
|Click here and
£ = R--
€ = R--
$ = R--
R = ZAR = South African Rand
3 October 2012 7:51